Previous Secretary-General Appointments

Trygve Lie (Norway)

Held office from February 1946 to his resignation in November 1952

Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden)

Held office from April 1953 until his death in a plane crash in Africa in September 1961

U Thant (Burma, now Myanmar)

Held office from November 1961, when he was appointed acting Secretary-General (he was formally appointed Secretary-General in November 1962) to December 1971

Kurt Waldheim (Austria)

Held office from January 1972 to December 1981

Javier Pérez de Cuéllar (Peru)

Held office from January 1982 to December 1991

Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt)

Held office from January 1992 to December 1996

Kofi A. Annan (Ghana)

Held office from January 1997 to December 2006

Ban Ki-moon (South Korea)

Took office on January 1, 2007 and is currently the Secretary-General